Where is Section 3.4 (and other errata)?

Newbie here. Just found/bought the book and video last night. Looks good but I’m wondering about the PDF documentation.

1. There are four references to “section 3.4” but I can find no actual section 3.4. Example: two references on page 72. None of the sections, chapters, etc. are actually numbered.
  2. I found a typo on page 22 where the --query in the describe-stacks subcommand is wrapped in single quotes instead of double quotes. Where do I find/submit errata?
  3. Why is the table of contents at the end of the document? Is that a German thing?

Hi @faberfedor

Thanks for reaching us to us:

1. section 3.4 is “Configuring a custom domain name and HTTPS: Route 53 and Certificate Manager”. It looks like we lost the auto numbering in the titles. I will look into it.
  2. It’s a feature :slight_smile: In your shell, Single quotes won’t interpolate anything, but double quotes will.
  3. I don’t think that this is a German thing :slight_smile: In a printed book, you will find the TOC at the beginning as well. But, this is not a printed book. Most PDF viewers will render a much nicer TOC for you. E.g., on my machine, it looks like this:

That’s why we only added it to the end. We don’t expect many readers to use the TOC at the end. Do I make sense?
  1. kk

2. I guess I didn’t make myself clear. This code

aws cloudformation describe-stacks --stack-name demo-app
    –query ‘Stacks[0].Outputs[?OutputKey==‘Url’].OutputValue’
    –output text

returned [] because the shell parsed it improperly.

To get a proper response, I had to change it to this:

aws cloudformation describe-stacks --stack-name demo-app \
--query "Stacks[0].Outputs[?OutputKey=='Url'].OutputValue" \
--output text
  1. I see. I read my PDFs on a tablet where space is at a premium so I never used the sidebar. I was also wondering why clicking on an element in the TOC didn’t jump to that section. :slight_smile: